Walking on water and ice

On Saturday, we went to Grand Park in Downtown Los Angeles to play in the splash pad.  Alice loved it.

I have wanted to replace our gates for a long time, so on Sunday, Jenny’s dad Jerry went with us to Lowe’s to get the supplies.  Jerry showed Jenny how to pick out good boards to make the fence by looking to see if they were straight.  Meanwhile, I was occupying Alice, holding her arms and pulling her up so that she could make huge jumps.  When we got home, Jenny and Alice went off swimming and I stayed home to paint the boards.  Throughout the week, when I got home from work, I kept painting boards.  With practice, I got faster and my messes got smaller.

On Tuesday, during our evening walk Alice was trying to spell words.  When we did this the day before, she tried incorporating numbers and letters, or repeating vowels, which didn’t spell anything.  Tonight, she had a better mix of vowels and consonants, and after three or four letters, I would try to add the last letter to make an actual word.  It is a fun game.

On Thursday, I decided to get down my plastic guitar from the attic and play Rock Band 3 (Rock Band 4 is coming out soon).  One of the nice features about that version of the game was that it allowed users to rate songs and then sort by rating.  I played some old favorites like Dirty Little Secret by All-American Rejects,  I’m Gone, I’m Going by Lesley Roy and Code Monkey by Jonathan Coulton.  I encouraged Alice to dance along, and she jumped back and forth between the couch and the coffee table.  It was fun, but I am definitely out of practice and even with muscle memory it was hard to get my fingers to move fast enough.

On Friday, I left work early and Jenny and I  drove to the LA Kings Valley Ice Center in Panorama City for lunch and a curling lesson.  The goal of curling is to slide rocks across the ice rink and get them inside a circle.  The thrower pushes off a launch pad with the rock, glides on the ice for a bit, and then release the rock, turning it ever so slightly.  The turning action causes the rock to move into the turn (or curl).  Two sweepers then walk ahead of the rock.  Sweeping causes the ice to melt which makes the surface more slick so there is less friction and the rock spins less and goes further.

Most of the practice was as the thrower, setting up on the launch pad, balancing on the rock and a broom, and gliding forward without falling over.  After about an hour of instruction, we each got to throw one stone.  It was challenging, but fun.  

Leave a Reply

